Skip to main content

Our Work

We raise money to advance gender equity in our local region and fund critical work. We make multi-year grants to nonprofits, publish research, develop the leadership of women, girls, and gender-diverse people, and advocate on their behalf. We leverage a network of community partners and individuals in this work.

Women’s Fund of Western Massachusetts is a valued and respected organization. We remain the region’s only philanthropy dedicated to gender equity. We convene important conversations addressing the barriers that stand in the way of equality. We recognize that achieving a gender-equal region is not the work of any one organization. It is work for many hands.

Women’s Fund supporters give us their dollars and together, we make change.

Our Origin

Three women from Western Massachusetts were inspired by the possibility of a gender-equal world at the Fourth World Women’s Conference. They formed the Women’s Fund of Western Massachusetts in 1996.

The early Women’s Fund moved hundreds of women to join and give to gender equality. They were asked to give money in larger amounts than they’d ever imagined giving. They knew their money would support the region’s community-based nonprofits working to improve the lives of women and girls.

Today’s Women’s Fund has become the nucleus of a multifaceted support structure that involves partnerships with community organizations, community members, nonprofits, and donors. We have expanded our work to include all women and girls across the race and gender spectrum. No matter your pronouns, no matter who you love, the Women’s Fund is dedicated to you.

The Women’s Fund of Western Massachusetts fuels progress toward gender equity by funding the most promising solutions, collaborating with results-oriented partners, and by elevating the collective power of local women to take charge, and to lead with purpose.

Diversity Statement and Land Acknowledgement

The Women’s Fund is on a journey of discovering how our organization has benefited from systems of oppression in Hampden, Hampshire, Franklin, and Berkshire counties of Western Massachusetts. We acknowledge that our work takes place on the historic lands of Indigenous peoples, including Agawam, Mohican, Nipmuc, Nonotuck, Pocumtuc, and Wabanaki nations. We believe we must move along a continuum from awareness to acknowledgment to action. In the spirit of dismantling systems of oppression, we provide grants to organizations serving women and girls (with a focus on racial equity) and to regional Indigenous nations and/or organizations directly serving them.


Donna Haghighat


Jorene Lomenzo

Development Manager

Kelley Bryant

Director of Research and Advocacy

Sarah Monson

Senior Director of Philanthropy

Amihan Jennifer Matias

Senior Director of Community Partnerships

Andrea Jeffers

Administrative Coordinator

“The battle for the individual rights of women is one of long standing and none of us should countenance anything which undermines it.”

—Eleanor Roosevelt

Board of Directors


Luzed Guzman Romano, President
Lead Insurance Representative
Comparion Insurance Agency

Tahirah Amatul-Wadud, Vice President
Executive Director
CAIR Massachusetts

Lisa Ranghelli, Treasurer
Director of Assessment & Capacity Building
Public Health Institute of Western MA

Michele Equale, Clerk
Direct Product Management
Empower Retirement

Stephanie DiMichele
Director of Permanency
18 Degrees

J. Lynn Griesemer
Amherst Town Council
President & District 2 Councilor

Rania Kfuri
Philanthropy Officer
Baystate Health Foundation

Mia Lauer
Community Engagement Specialist

Shela Levante
Senior Director of Development
Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts

Nancy Robinson
Senior Director of Operations
Food Bank of Western MA

Mehlaqa Samdani
Executive Director
Critical Connection

Rebecca Thibault
Partner Attorney
Doherty, Wallace, Pillsbury & Murphy, P.C.

Victoria Worth
Simmons University

Contact the WFWM

Have a question?

    333 Bridge Street
    Springfield, MA 01103
    (413) 529-0087

    By checking “E-newsletter List” (or another e-newsletter) on this form, you are granting the Women’s Fund of Western Massachusetts, 1350 Main St, Suite 1006, Springfield, MA  01103, permission to email you. You may update your email preferences or unsubscribe via the link found at the bottom of every email. (See our Email Privacy Policy for details.) Emails are serviced by Raiser’s Edge NXT.

    Financial Profile

    Annual snapshot stock photo

    FY2022 Annual Snapshot

    Annual snapshot stock photo

    FY2021 Annual Snapshot

    Annual snapshot graphic image

    FY2020 Annual Snapshot

    Annual snapshot stock photo

    FY2019 Annual Snapshot